motivation is gone

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by bobbygedd, Sep 1, 2004.

1. bobbygedd

bobbygedd LawnSite Fanatic
    from NJ

lately, i have no motivation at all about my business. the work is getting done, well most of it, but it seems a struggle every morning to get going, then every minute of the work day, i'm thinking about other things besides what i'm doing. i wake up in the morning hoping to see rain so i have an excuse not to cut grass, and from the time we start, i'm thinking when is it time to go home. just a complete and total lack of motivation. it seems like only a month ago, i was a ball of fire, now i'm nothing more than grey ashes. ever get in a "slump" for awhile? i know we all have a day or two when we just don't feel like it, but, have you ever had a month or two when you've felt like that?

2. KenH

KenH LawnSite Bronze Member
    from CT

This whole last season I felt like this. Ive been doing this for 21 years now and feel like I (and my body) have just had it. Ive dropped alot of customers this season and believe it or not, I am alot happier. I do 20 accounts now (as opposed to 130+ in the past) so that is a huge difference.

My discalimer: I do have backup income, so I am 'allowed' to have this attitude......

3. Trevors Lawn Care

Trevors Lawn Care LawnSite Bronze Member

I have had a couple weeks where i felt like that. But then usually come around the end of the month when the $$$$$$$$4 starts rollin in, i remind myself....It would taken me a while to make this much at another job. Today....I AM READY TO GO...This will be my last day cutting for a LONG while...I leave for college tomorrow, and am turning the business over to someone else for the time being.

Trevor

4. AL Inc

AL Inc LawnSite Bronze Member