move south

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by mp067, Oct 23, 2005.

1. mp067

mp067 LawnSite Member

good evening,
    i was posting this question mainly to lco s in south florida, around the Hernando county area, if there is anyone from there. if not then anyone on the gulf coast.
    i m retiring from 20 years in law enforcement pretty soon(jan), and i m thinking of relocating my lawn service to Florida. i have been doing this for the last two years part time. i am curious about the differences in the business in florida compared to pa. prices, for residential mowing. other services offered along with weekly cutting. type of grasses compared to pa. and if there is a difference in the way u would cut/ and or equipment u would use.
    when i was down visiting family near brooksville fl. i got to talking to a landscaper who stated he quit his regular full time job to go full time in the lawn service business. he was a solo just like i am and had similar equipment to mine. was this guy b-sing me or is there plenty of work? any way this was a little long i know but is a major step i m thinking of taking.

2. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

I do not live down there but from what I have seen on this site the money down there is very tight. It seems like what most people do for 40 bucks they do for 20 and have to fight for that.
    My wife has some family down there and we were talking to them ( I also run a handy man service) about gutter cleaning. They have a Mobile with about 30 feet of gutter that gets plugged up. There is a guy that does handyman stuff for a lot of the people down there and they asked him what he charges, He said $25.00. And they freaked!!!!!!!.
    They thought that was WAY overpriced.... They asked me what I thought about that and I was stunned. I just said that I would Have to really look at it and measure it before I could say anything.