Mower Help

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by mjf3885, Mar 18, 2006.

1. mjf3885

mjf3885 LawnSite Member

I have been reading these message boards for quite a while and I want to say thank you to all of you for providing such a valuable resource for people starting in the industry.

This is my first year in the industry and I have successfully gained three clients in the last week. One is a residence and two are commercial clients. The residence is around 1/2 acre and the commercial clients are a full acre. I am now in the process of buying my equipment and this is where I need your help. Could you please advise me on the type of mower I should buy?

In analyzing my decision I need to know what type of lawns I will be mowing. I am going to mainly focus on residence with 1/2 acre lawns. I will still go after some commercial accounts, but I feel that my two existing clients might be all I will have this year. I have came to the conclusion that I am in need of a zero turn mower. Would everyone agree with that?

I am have been looking and I have two ztr mowers that are in my price range $2K - $2.5K. One is a 1991 grasshopper, but it only has a 14 HP engine. This mower has a 44 inch deck. Does anyone know if this old of a mower is worth it? The other is a two year old Zipper brand. The Zipper is manufactured locally. It has a 17 HP engine with dual hydro-stat transmission. This mower has a 44 inch deck. Has anyone heard of the Zipper brand?

Both of these mowers are around $2K. Are either or both worth it? What would you recommend? I really appreciate any feedback and would love your professional advice.

Thanks in Advance!!!

2. cwmiller928

cwmiller928 LawnSite Member