Mowing crew pay: Commission or hourly?

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by CHC, Feb 8, 2001.

1. CHC

CHC LawnSite Member

Has anyone had any success with using a commission scale or piece work to pay mowing crews; as opposed to hourly wages. If so, what sort of percentages or rate schedule do you suggest. Thanks for any help.

2. zimm4

zimm4 LawnSite Member

Im new to this business. But I would think there would be A possability of poor work. If the guys get min A hurry to make A buck. The quality may suffer. Just my opinion.

3. thelawnguy

thelawnguy LawnSite Silver Member

What happens on a callback? Can you legally have them redo the lawn for free? Or charge back to them?

I would think a bonus for exemplary work would be a better option.

4. kutnkru

kutnkru LawnSite Silver Member

The only time that I paid someone on a per cut basis was my younger brother worked with me one summer when I first started out on my own. I paid him $4 per lawn for 50 lawns. we cut about 12-13 a day.

I would have to agree with Bill that the bonus check for exemplary work is the way to go. Afterall at 4$ a cut if they are too tired the might skip it.

Just my .02
    Kris

5. LoneStarLawn

LoneStarLawn LawnSite Bronze Member

I think the hardest thing to look at is if you have hourly workers will they milk the clock. My partner actually worked for some one else many years ago and the people he worked with would milk the clock to get overtime each day. Just something to think about.

6. CHC

CHC LawnSite Member