Mowing on a slope with a 0-Turn

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by timscherer, Mar 20, 2008.

1. timscherer

timscherer LawnSite Member

I am new to this business, and new to using 0-Turn Mowers. I would like to know what is the steepest slope a 61" Zero Turn Mower can handle mowing along side of a slope. I have a commercial property that I am in the process of writing a bid proposal for, and along side of there property is a 20'-25' slope that meets with the road at the bottom of slope. The slope is approx. 7' in height and 20'-22' in length. So it trigs out at approx. 20' angle.

The 0-Turn mower that I am using is a 61" Ferris IS2000Z. Can I safely make this cut without sliding and possibly rolling the mower. If not, is there another way to approach this slope issue? Can I approach it from the bottom of the slope and angle up to the top of slope? Any ideas would be appreciated.

Thanks,
    Tim
    Choppers Mowing & Services

2. PTSolutions

PTSolutions LawnSite Silver Member
    from OH

is it possible to go over the crest of the hill to make the turn and come back down the hill? or do you have to make the turn while you are on the angle?

i have some properties that are probably steeper than 20* but i have no obstacles at the tops or bottoms, and i am pretty in tune with my mower by now, i can tell when im pushing it to hard and it wants to break traction. i have a ferris is1500z

3. timscherer

ProTouch Groundscapes,

Thanks for your reply. To answer you question, at the top of slope there are several trees that run parallel to the slope. At the bottom of the slope is a road that it meets with, so there is not much of a landing per say at the bottom. It looks like I can handle the angle going with the slope, I just wanted confirmation from somebody with more seat time than I have had.

How do you like your Ferris, have you had any issues with it mowing along side slopes?

Thanks again,
    Tim

4. Raven386

Raven386 LawnSite Silver Member
    from CT