MSMA (Good vs. Bad)

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by lawnspecialties, Jul 23, 2009.

1. lawnspecialties

lawnspecialties LawnSite Silver Member

I'm becoming a big fan of MSMA. I bought some Target 6.6 from JDL and it's proving to be quite beneficial in the bermudagrass vs. crabgrass.

But I do have a few questions being how this is my first year of spraying post-emergent herbicides.

1. What's with MSMA regarding environmental concerns? Is it not true they can't make MSMA anymore? If so, why? I was told once it's all gone, that's it.

2. Is there anything else comparable for crabgrass control in bermudagrass? It appears Q4 will possibly be labeled for bermudagrass and of course, there's Drive, but in my opinion, they're no better but more expensive.

2. EVM

EVM LawnSite Senior Member

MSMA is a hot herbicide i think. I think i spray MS at 1 ounce per 2.5k
    Posted via Mobile Device

3. VARMIT COMMISSION

VARMIT COMMISSION LawnSite Senior Member

MSMA rocks! It control's so many grassy weeds and covers quite a few broadleafs too. Main one is dandy's. 2010 is the last year here in oklahoma to apply it. There is no replacement either. Drive doesnt even compare to the list of weeds MSMA will control. Q4's expensive too and I have yet to hear from anyone here in Oklahoma who use's it and is satisfied with it. Drive in the south will fry our grass faster and longer than MSMA will. Probably the MSO that makes it so hot. MSMA with no sticker added works just fine in hot temps.

4. greendoctor

greendoctor LawnSite Fanatic

One thing to note about Drive in the South is its lack of activity on goosegrass. I remember talking to someone from BASF about Drive and they told me I was not missing much, because it would actually cause a weed population to shift from crabgrass to goosegrass. That would be significant for BASF, given that Bayer makes the alternative goosegrass herbicides for use in bermuda.

5. johnsonslawnmanagement