mudhole yard

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by sicnj, Oct 29, 2005.

1. sicnj

sicnj LawnSite Senior Member

I am new to the lawn Care buss. i have been trying to learn as much as I can form the everyones post, so thanks for all the information. I just jumped into cutting grass when i went out without researching and bought a husky
    z4817 so I have tons to learn. I Have not had any problems with it yet. anyways here is my question I got a yard half way through the season, brand new house, off a golf course,nobody is living in the house, a developer is trying to sell it. Sod yard, but not maintained, when I got there. it had not been cut in awhile, and where it met the curb there was a lot off crabgrass, two areas at least 10x10 where the sod had died. the biggest problem is there is a area 15X10 that you can't even walk on because you will sink. I think there is an irrigation problem. I don't know what to do its been like that all summer. i try to make it look as good as i can but , it just looks half a**. like I said "I am new and don't know what to do." I don't wan't ppl thinking I do a half ass job. second part of the problem from all the rain the wet spot is bigger and i tore up i nice 6 foot rut, but you can't fix it because it like walking on jello. now i am pissed off and run over a head that is up. I don't know how to replace head's.

2. JMB

JMB LawnSite Member
    from Texas

To replace the head, dig a hole around the head down to where it screws on the nipple, unscrew it and replace it with a new one. If the nozzle is not ruined on the old head, you will have to pull the pop-up out of the old head to remove the nozzle. If it is ruined you will have to get a new nozzle when you buy the new head. I carry spare nozzles and heads with me.

The soggy area could be caused by a lot of things.
    1 Sprinkler system not set correctly, but if it as wet as you say, I doubt that is the problem.
    2 Improper drainage...A good bet.