mulch job.. renting a dingo vs hiring help

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by facework84, Jun 11, 2012.

1. facework84

facework84 LawnSite Member

I'm generally a solo op, with the exception of a mulch job, brush removal, gutter cleaning, etc.

In the past, I've had bad luck with people being reliable.

I have a job to do this week, 14 cy of mulch & 34 bales of long leaf pine straw. The pine straw is in a pretty wide open area, but most of the mulch is around flowers and small shrubs (a lot of hands and knees work)

With the rental of the mini skid, I'm thinking my total cost will be a little higher, but it should go faster, and I don't have to worry about unreliables.

What do you think? Me and 4 other guys doing it by hand, or rent a skid and hire two guys? Most of the area to be mulched is on either side of the area where the mulch will be dropped.

I've never used a skid before either.. so not sure how much faster it is vs a crew with two wheelbarrows
    -Antoni

2. f50lvr2

f50lvr2 LawnSite Senior Member

How about the skid and 1 other helper? If it's mostly hands and knees stuff it'd definitely be nice to put spread out the wear and tear to other peoples hands and knees.

3. grassyfras

grassyfras LawnSite Bronze Member

How would the mini skid help? Dumping into barrels? I think 4 guys could do that job in a day. Do you use a large pitchfork to shovel out the truck or trailer into barrels? If your not, maybe you should.

4. facework84

facework84 LawnSite Member

@grassfras
    Nah, for dumping it near/in the beds
    I'd rather not be out there for 8 hours
    The mulch will be on the ground, delivered by the dump truck

@f150
    are you saying a dingo, and 3 helpers, while i watch?

5. nepatsfan

nepatsfan LawnSite Gold Member