Mulch kit..Toro?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by RMcGhee, Oct 30, 2007.

1. RMcGhee

RMcGhee LawnSite Member

I am thinking about buying a mulching kit for my Toro..52 inch, 23HP..Turbo Force deck.
    How does this help? What does it do? I am in my 2nd year and thinking about expanding..Not sure of the benefits of mulching kits? I have a chute that I close around flower beds but it leaves grass bunched up, have to blow it off..Takes time..Would a mulcher save time?
  2. cgaengineer

cgaengineer LawnSite Fanatic

I am interested in a mulching kit too. I think Vikings has one so maybe he will chime in.

Vikings...are you out there?
  3. RMcGhee

RMcGhee LawnSite Member

I forgot to add. How much do they cost? Can you get them online?
  4. DK lawn care

DK lawn care LawnSite Senior Member

I have a mulching kit for my exmark lazer CT. My deck has three blades and it encloses all three blades, which means if u use the right blades (usually gator blades) it will cut up all of the grass with out leaving clumps of grass behind and with out bagging yards.

When i bought my Lazer CT used, it came with the mulching kit so i installed it. I thought that this was a good alternative until i saved for a bagging kit. In my opinion, i hate the mulching kit and it is the biggest pain. It doesnt leave any grass behind what so ever while ur on the yard. But once u go on the side walk to turn around grass flys all over the side walk and the heavy exmark runs over the grass that is on the side walks. That grass sticks to the sidewalks and it wont come off with a blower unless u sweep it up by hand. It also gets in the beds to. In the end i think it makes a mess.

What kinds of yards are you cutting RMcGhee? if ur cutting small fields that are not even close to being overgrown then id buy on but if ur cutting residental then id stick with a bagger.
  5. RMcGhee

RMcGhee LawnSite Member