Mulching with Doubles?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Mr.CleanCut, Jul 26, 2005.

1. Mr.CleanCut

Mr.CleanCut LawnSite Member

Help anyone!

I'm relatively new to the business. I've only been mowing for 2 yrs and mostly residential. I'm currently running a Scag 48 WB with a mulching plate only. I had the eliminators on when I bought it new and I loved them. My dealer tells me they are around $25.00 each to replace so I've used Gators (didn't like) and some after market Scag blades and I'm just not satisfied with the results. I've been wanting to try a double blade setup but not sure.

Question # 1 Can I run a doubles set up when mulching?
    Question # 2 Does anyone know where to buy Eliminator Blades cheap?

Thanks for any help I can get.

Mr.CleanCut

2. Fareway Lawncare

Fareway Lawncare LawnSite Silver Member
    from Canada

Double eXcalibur non-serrated Mulchers w/Micro Mulch....

Go Nuts.

mm1.JPG

3. Precision

Precision LawnSite Silver Member

#1 yes, but if you are going thru dense growth or tall growth be prepared to bog or turf turd alot
    #2 No

Except for the fact that you balk at $25 I would try some meg-mo blades. I love mine, but I have only mulched with them on a 21" Toro.

4. Mr.CleanCut

Thanks Fareway for the info.......I'll check into the excaliburs

5. Mr.CleanCut

Thanks Precision for the info.........I'm mowing medium height bermuda.......about 2 1/2 iches every 7 to 10 days. Can I expect alot of turf turds?

6. John Gamba

John Gamba LawnSite Fanatic
    from ct

IGGY!!

Have you tried the Raper Blades???

John

7. Precision

Precision LawnSite Silver Member

I have little to no experience with Bermuda.

But the basic concept works on all grass types. If you bog the mower while discharging it will bog 20-30% faster while mulching. Once a mulcher bogs the only thing it can do is turf turd it out or stall.

Running doubles will slow the onset of bogging, but will accelerate the effect once it does occur.