My first lowballer experience

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jimmbo407, May 18, 2006.

1. jimmbo407

jimmbo407 LawnSite Member

I just lost two accounts to a lowballer. I have only been in business for 3 years. I think I was the lowballer lol. Anyway this guy lives on a block that I had two accounts. I had two little ol ladys that are both widowers (PITA;s). I raised there rates this year from 20 to 23 dollars. Everyone else went up 5 bucks. This guy is mowing there lawn for 13 bucks a piece. He has an enclose trailer and a two new Hustlers one WB and one ZTR. I may be able to get some good use equipment off him next year lol.:usflag:

2. Loy's Home Services  LLC

Loy's Home Services LLC LawnSite Member

I have been maintaining the same rental properties for 4 years, and back in march the owner wanted me to re- bid all 4 locations. No fert, insect cntrl, lndscpe mntc noting just mowing. So I basically raised each one by five dollars. That brought the total for all 4 of them to 290 each week. Crappy account but it was easy, anyway he has his secretary call me to tell me that another "contractor" came in at 220. I asked her if he was legit, does he have the proper liability ins., what other commecial references did he provide. She wanted me to drop my prices to his before they even knew if he was legit. I told them that I was not about to lower my price before they even knew if he was legit. Any way I told them NO! and havent heard from them since.

I did go buy and take a look at his work though, shity job. I hope they call me back when the dumbass is out of biz, so I can tell them to kiss my country ass!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

He under bid me buy 1800 for the season, maybee his gas, ins. and all that is free!:laugh:

3. AdamChrap

AdamChrap LawnSite Senior Member