My mower is pissin me off!!!!!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by MxMan817, Apr 27, 2006.

1. MxMan817

MxMan817 LawnSite Member

hey all thanks for looking. this is my first year in the biz and it slowly getting better as times goes on. my question is....i have a 48" ztr husky and the stripes it makes sucks. instead of light green dark green the stripes are a mix. for instance, the light green stripe has to narrow dark green stripes within it, equal distances from the edges of the deck. should i put a roller kit on the back or is there something else wrong?

maybe its just the mower...i am already wanting to go with a different brand...this thing wont cut wet grass without clogging:hammerhead: :angry:

thanks again for the help....

ride. race. live.

2. scagwildcat

scagwildcat LawnSite Senior Member
    from nw. ct.

pls dont take this the wrong way, but i think cheaper is not always better if you know what i mean... i would try to build a stripe kit for it, im not sure if they make one for your mower... if you search, alot of people on here posted pics of stripe kits...

3. Bunton Guy

Bunton Guy LawnSite Bronze Member

MxMan how much do your customers pay you to lay stripes? Maybe I should get into that business? I just cut grass.....stripes just come with it don't they?

4. Travis Followell

Travis Followell LawnSite Silver Member
    from KY

Bad stripes and clogging in wet grass sounds like a deck pitch problem to me. Look in your owners manual to find out for sure but it should be 1/8-1/4" lower in the front. That gives you a better cut and helps the deck to discharge better.

5. P & L Turf

P & L Turf LawnSite Senior Member

Check your blades to. If you've been out drivin golf balls with it, that'll change things up quite a bit. If they're bent, dinged, or not the same you may want to fix that.

6. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

Take it from someone who knows and has been through it...