1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice
  1. senor plow

senor plow LawnSite Member

Hey, My name is Jason Shemnitz and this is my first time posting on this site. I just bought an 1984 GMC Jimmy full size (350) with fisher 7 foot plow. I have a contract to plow some streets for my town and I am also in the process of picking up some driveways. This is my first year plowing. I am 20 years old.

Does anyone have any tips for me?

Is anyone on this site in Easton area of massachusetts?

I have plowed about an inch of slush so far this season which is actually my first time plowing.
  2. diggerman

diggerman LawnSite Senior Member
    from Iowa

Ever seen the ad with the guy in the leather jacket and sunglasses in the over stuffed chair hanging on to the arms and sitting in front of the speakers with his hair being blown back,well thats going to be you after asking a question like that here.So hang on, good and bad here it comes.
  3. GeoffDiamond

GeoffDiamond LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Maine

Congrats on starting out, young.

Make sure ya have the correct insurance if ya haven't yet. The just sit back and make the money.

4. RB

RB LawnSite Senior Member

Make sure you're familiar with those streets you'll be plowing.

Make sure you take care of your vehicle and yourself. How ya make lots of money!

5. JCurtis

JCurtis LawnSite Senior Member

Watch out for raised manhole covers !!!

Good Luck!