My Startup plan

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Lynden-Jeff, Jun 7, 2006.

1. Lynden-Jeff

Lynden-Jeff LawnSite Bronze Member

Hey,

Well I'm new to this whole game and I just wanted to get some feedback on my plan and setup. Ive started with a Budget of $40000 CDN dollars not US. So far my setup is as follows:

1998 Dodge ram 1500 short box for towing
    6X12 JDJ trailer with side gate
    Bobcat 52" ZT-219 ride on
    Bobcat 32" gear drive walk behind for gates
    Echo trimmers (230S and 260 PAS w/trimmer and edger)
    Echo Blower 650
    Green touch trimmer racks

As far as marketing goes right now I'm focusing on residential. I will tackle a bit of small commercial next year and ease my way in to it. For my marketing I am going to go with 5X7 card flyer's delivered by the Canada post and local newspapers. I'm also going to deliver by hand. I am going to post 24" X 12" 2 color signs around areas where I plan to heavily advertise. I have magnetic signs for my truck and i'm going to use an A frame type sign at the job site doubling as a safety cone so people don't drive up on my trailer when I'm at a job.

So far all of the things mentioned about are in motion. Trailer and equipment has been ordered, I pickup the truck tomorrow and the trailer next week. How does this sound to the experienced crew? Is there anything I am forgetting?

Cheers and thanks for looking
    Jeff

2. Scag413

Scag413 LawnSite Bronze Member

I am not an experienced crew but it all sounds good. Just remember that it is illegal at least in the US to leave advertisements in a person mailbox. You can mail it to them but that is the only way. Good Luck with your business.

3. Lynden-Jeff

Im pretty sure its not that way in Canada but please some one correct me if im wrong. Your actually not allowed to just put fliers in peoples mailboxes?

Cheers
    Jeff

4. fiveoboy01

fiveoboy01 LawnSite Silver Member