My very first ZTR

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Vibe Ray, Feb 5, 2001.

1. Vibe Ray

Vibe Ray LawnSite Senior Member

Hi, I am getting a 44" Exmark Lazer HP 19 HP Kawisaki in a few weeks. I already put down a dedposit for it a few days ago. My question is what advice would you give someone who has never owned a ZTR and just bought one? I'm talking about care for it, how to drive it, how to not tear up turf, what kinda oil to use, safety precautions, tips for making any part of it last longer, and WHATEVER else you can think of. Please don't limit it to the questions I asked. That's just what I can think of right now. Also what kinda upgrades can I get for it (for the engine and mower itself)?
    I will be mulching w/ it using gator blades up top and Hi-lifts on bottom. Keep in mind that I am totally new to ZTR's, so assume that I know nothing about them. My mower before this was a 21" self-propelled Scotts WB 6.5 OHV and before that was a 20" or 21" push Murray, so this is a big jump for me and I had to work my A$$ off to get this ZTR!

[Edited by Vibe Ray on 02-05-2001 at 07:12 PM]
  2. Cutter1

Cutter1 LawnSite Bronze Member