Mycorrhizae

Discussion in 'Organic Lawn Care' started by lawncuttinfoo, Mar 12, 2008.

1. lawncuttinfoo

lawncuttinfoo LawnSite Bronze Member

Is it alive?

How well does it store?

How long can it be stored?

What is the preferred method of application to established turf, Tablets, Soluble, Granuals or Gel?

How often would be good to apply to established turf?
    twice a year

How many applications would be a good amount to get a good population thriving?
    several years

Once you have a good population of mycorrhizae will it support itself with no need to continue applications?

I just found some answers on www.Mycorrhizae.com and filled in some answers from there, but feel free to correct me.

2. Marcos

Marcos LawnSite Gold Member

I don't know the answers to all of your questions...yet.

But I've been experimenting with just the endo-mycorrhizae for a couple of years now when I do fall seeding and renovation work; at first in "side-by-side" plots, to convince myself.
    I was very happy with the difference in the root density after only a 6 weeks or so.

I debated about what FORM to apply it in, and settled with the finest sprayable form I could find...in order to get the best spore / soil contact that I could. It is actually a formulation for growing vegetables, etc hydroponically that I've used.

I use the "Hydroponic" formulation from these folks:
    http://www.fungi.com/mycogrow/index.html

From what I understand, the object is to 'infect' the turf with the spores.
    So long as the turf that's infected stays alive, the spores should stay alive, too. (Very much like 'Milky Spore' works for controlling grubworms) But others more experienced on this site may correct me a little on that.

3. ICT Bill

ICT Bill LawnSite Platinum Member

There is an article on it on our website http://www.ictorganics.com/index.cfm/fuseaction/articles.detail/articleID/6/index.htm