NCMA Certification Exam

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by Old Red, Feb 10, 2005.

1. Next month I will attend a one day Versa-Lok retaining wall installation seminar. There is an optional NCMA Certification Test. I have little experience with SRWs or pavers and am wondering if the seminar will be adequate preparation for the exam or should I save my money and skip the exam. Is there anything I could study prior to the exam?

2. newleaflandscape

newleaflandscape LawnSite Senior Member

There are so many master gardener classes, paver classes, retaining walls, etc etc you cant take and get some kind of certificate. If you are really going to learn how to install them that is great. But if want to pay to take an exam and get a certificate you have to sit and ask yourself will it honestly help you. I know there are all kinds of online landscape construction "certification" courses you can take too. Comes down to it most customers dont care if you took some crap course, they are more easily convinced of your talents by sitting and starring at your work. Only reason I say this is a buddy of mine took one of those stupid online course things for 400 bucks, and to this day he doesnt know why he wasted his time and money with it.

3. cgland

cgland LawnSite Bronze Member

The NCMA exam is pretty well known through out the industry. It is our job to educate our customers as to the benefits of hiring a "certified" contractor. I could understand if it was something like " Jimmy's Paver Class Certification" That would be senseless, but organizations like ICPI, NCMA, EP Henry, Versa-Lok, etc. are pretty well known and a "nod" from any of these guys is definately a feather in ones cap!

Chris

4. mbella

mbella LawnSite Bronze Member