Need 21" mower

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Yamahauler, May 7, 2005.

1. Yamahauler

Yamahauler LawnSite Member

I am just getting started in the business and I need to replace the beater 21".
    I really cant afford a full blown commercial like a Exmark, Proline, or Honda.
    How good are the better consumer units like a Honda Master HXA or the Toro Super recycler 20038. Any opinions will help.
    Thanks Mike

2. green-go

green-go LawnSite Member

Short of getting a commercial Toro, I'd suggest the following options:

Snapper's homeowner models are nearly the same as their commercial variety, the commercial version(s) just use a more durable/commercial level engine. They are reliable, well made mowers. I personally don't like how the bag attaches to the mower, but that's a minor thing and they do bag well.

Toro: I don't like their Personal Pace drivetrain myself, but that's just a personal preference and they are excellent mowers otherwise. I'd actually suggest looking for an older Super Recycler that uses their older drivetrain design, they operate just the same as the commercial models, just not as durable (although they are still durable mowers). Even if the engine is shot or underpowered, you could probably find a used one in great shape for $50 and put on a 6+ horse Briggs engine for about $150. I've got a couple of older Super Recylcers used in great shape for about $50 apiece and to me they're the next best thing to having a $1200 commercial Toro. If they have a strong engine on them they operate and cut basically just the same as the commercial models as well, they're just not the tank that the commercial models are.

Some people swear by Lawnboy mowers, the older 'traditional' designed Lawnboys, that is. Another brand to consider.

3. grasshopperslc

grasshopperslc LawnSite Member