Need a little advice

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by larry1189, Sep 14, 2006.

1. larry1189

larry1189 LawnSite Member

I currently operate a seasonal greenhouse and I also have some commercial and residential accounts that I mow. I also do some small landscape projects that the "big" boys do really care about. I sort of feed off their scaps. But its what I like. I stay really busy. My question is this, the town is only about 10,000 people, their are a few guys who do spaying around town and there are a few companies that come here from out of town. I have people ask me to spray, I tell them I don't have a licence. I have thought about doing it, but I have no experience in doing it. I have even read the test books, but I am smart enough to know that I should leave it alone. It alot more than just killing weeds! I have talked to a couple the guys that spray about spraying for the accounts that I find for them. They all say no, except the Chem Lawn guys in another town. The locals say that they don't want to spray, then have me mow to short or something and damage the grass. I tell them I am smarter than that. What should I do. I don't know if I should go out of town, I don't want anyone pissed at me. Thanks.

2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

I believe you have answered your own question, and I think that to advise you any different would not be a good idea.

3. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

Don't want to Pi$$ you off, but why not just do one thing right,
    This is what I just read-- You have a green house but it does not make enough money to live off of so you cut grass also. and do landscape projects. So who do you sell plants to-- the guys that you compete against doing landscape projects?