need a new riding mower

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by ericb, Apr 28, 2002.

1. ericb

ericb LawnSite Member

Hello, I'm kinda new to the business, started custom mowing late last year. I mow all kinds of areas, commercial and residential, i have a Kioti 35 hp tractor with 6 ft. rear pto finish mower ( does a beautiful job ) , 21 in. snaper walk behind, and an old yt12 snaper. The riding snaper is what i need to replace, it never did give a very good cut. I am thinking that I want one of the front deck, zero radius,rear engine mowers with possibly a mulching deck on it. I need something that will give me a very smooth even cut with the least amount of scalping, speed is not as important as a good cut. As I am just getting started I feel that i need to stay under$5,00.00 for the mower. I realize that I may be asking for a cadilac at a ford price. If any one has some input here,I would welcome any suggestions I could get.
    Thank you;
    Eric Blakeman
    Blakeman Services
    Henderson, Ky.
    ericb@henderson.net

2. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic

ericb wrote:

I am thinking that I want one of the front deck, zero radius,rear engine mowers with possibly a mulching deck on it. I need something that will give me a very smooth even cut with the least amount of scalping, speed is not as important as a good cut. As I am just getting started I feel that i need to stay under$5,00.00 for the mower. I realize that I may be asking for a cadilac at a ford price.

Nope, it's more like you're asking for Cadillac at a Yugo price. Husqvqarna makes exactly what you're looking for at around $3,000. I don't know the model number but it has like a 15 horse Briggs engine, mulching deck, articulates (not a zero turn though) and is in your price range. Good luck homeowner.

3. Doc Pete

Doc Pete LawnSite Gold Member