Need advice in pricing larger property

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by MowerMoney, Mar 30, 2005.

1. MowerMoney

MowerMoney LawnSite Senior Member

Most of the lawns I've been servicing for the last 2 years are small to mediocre in size so I've been able to price them fairly well. Found that I was only slightly underpriced on a few but nothing to really hurt.
    Today I was pricing a larger estate and don't have a clue if I'm even close to the ballpark. Looking for some advice on this one.
    Lawn area around 18,000 square feet with several mature maple & birch trees, lots of gardens, circular front drive plus long side drive (lots of trim), wrought iron fencing surrounding property and pool area (more trim work). And several areas of lawn steeply sloping away from the house (can't use ZTN on those areas)
    They want a price for 1)weekly cutting, 2)spring cleanup, and 3)fall leaf removal (suggests doing leaves 4 times during the fall - must get a lot but I have never seen their yard in the fall so I have no idea how bad it gets)
    I'm thinking:
    Weekly cut/trim/blow 3-4 hrs @ $130.00
    Spring Cleanup 5-6 hrs @ $225.00
    Fall leaf Removal 5-6 hrs per time @ $270.00 each time (seems high?)
    Any Advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. Jpocket

Jpocket LawnSite Silver Member

Your spring and fall cleanups are alittle cheap for 5 to 6 hours. The mowing price is alittle low but that may be all you can get for your area. I face this all the time A lawn where i need to make like $50-$65 guys are bidding $40 on. Stay with the mowing price and bump the spring clean up t0 $245, and the fall clean up to $300.

3. LWNMWR1

LWNMWR1 LawnSite Member

1. if you think that 18,000 is a large area imagine 400,000sqft

2. if you can get 130 a week for that i'm moving.(even if it is canadian... that's still like 90/wk and i am still moving!!!)

4. Precision

Precision LawnSite Silver Member

18,000 square feet is way less than half an acre. Did a 0 get lost?