need advice on ztr

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by madmusic, Jul 2, 2004.

1. madmusic

madmusic LawnSite Member

Hello all!I am a newbie to this site and im looking for advice on the purchase of a new ztr.Price and financing are very important as is qaulity.Only doing 5-7 yards weekly but hope to do more.Right now im using a cub 2135 and im think im ready to step up to the next level.Also I have a 1 year old that takes money to so I would like to keep the price around 5-6 grand.Anything from a 48-54 inch deck,may consider walk-behind upon your advice but the little research I have done tells me to pay a little extra for a rider.

2. samk

samk LawnSite Member

Take a look at lesco you should be able to get the 54 for around 6 grand

3. madmusic

madmusic LawnSite Member

the lesco you are talking about is a walker? I looked at a kubota zg today, liked it but question the 10 gauge deck. is the zg line good mowers?

4. samk

samk LawnSite Member

no thats a z, 23 kawi 54 inch cut my dealer has a price tag on them of 6000 or 6100 that was his asking price. looked at the cub tank with a 27 kohlor last week and was quoted 6800.00.

5. chuckers

chuckers LawnSite Senior Member

scag tiger cub 5999 19 kawi 48 inch deck

6. tacoma200

tacoma200 LawnSite Fanatic

Lazer Z as (advantage series). Good basic machine to help get you started. 52" or 61" probably can be bought for 6-7 bills.

7. notforprofit

notforprofit LawnSite Member

Madmusic-

I'm not a lawncare pro, not by any means. But I did stay at a holiday inn last night.:D (couldn't resist). I have spent the last three weeks studying, researching, looking at and sometimes demo'ing 19 different brands. I don't think any were really bad for a homeowner or small commercial operator. However a couple stick out in the price range you mentioned.
    The Yazoo/Kees Mid-max offered a lot of machine for the money. (I wound up buying that one, so I AM biased). The