Need Advice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by okie2, Jan 18, 2008.

1. okie2

okie2 LawnSite Member

I am doing this part time. I am a teacher and a coach. I have bid on our school lawn. It is about 35 acres. I talked to the maintenance and he said it takes them all week during the summer to mow it. I'm afraid I wont be able to get it all done in a week. They have four 60" JD tractor mowers. I have one 60" JD 757. It will be especially tough during school days in the spring and fall. I could cancel that and just do residentials which I have no customers yet. The school would pay alot more though. I bid $910 a cut. Could I get it all done?? By the way its mowing only, mostly flat, such as a football field, and its open in two places about 10 acres.
  2. Turf Dawg

Turf Dawg LawnSite Gold Member

If there is no trimming involved and you can run your deere on all areas this should only take a few days. I would have to see the layout ,but you can cut alot of grass per day with a 60"z in open spaces.
  3. deereequipment

deereequipment LawnSite Senior Member

I agree.
    Depending on what type of mower the school's 60" are. If they are just riders, that 757 of yours should cut alot faster.
    $910, for 35 acres is $26.00 an acre.Take out $6.00 for 2 gallons of fuel per acre. Now you are only making $20.00. Take out your mower payments, insurance payments, now you are probably only making $12.00/ acre. Can you cut an acre in an hour. You should.
    Is it worth that for you?
    Since you have an "in" at the school, negotiate.
    Don't over do it, especially with your work schedule in the fall and spring.
    Teaching and then coaching. Spring and late summer is when the grass grows the most and the fastest, so you could easily get overwhelmed. Especially if it is a wet year, most likely, it will be sunny while you are teaching, and raining every evening when you are available to mow.