1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Need Customers!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Turtle Creek Lawn Care, May 1, 2007.

1. Turtle Creek Lawn Care

Turtle Creek Lawn Care LawnSite Member

Hi, my name is Ryan and I'm 14 years old. I have been mowing lawns now for 2 years, with only a couple of customers from my neighborhood. This year I want to expand and possibly get around 10 people. I was wondering what the best type of advertising is and what I need to do to get 10 people. If anyone could help me out with any advise or comments that would be great!
  2. newz7151

newz7151 LawnSite Silver Member
    from Tejas

3. Venturewest

Venturewest LawnSite Senior Member

It is illegal to employ a 14 yr old to operate a mower. It is not illegal for a 14 yr to operate their own mower in their own lawn mowing business. In fact, if he wants to he can incorporate, and be the president of his business and operate his lawn mower. He just can't hire as an employee his friend who is 14 yrs old to help him.

To answer your question. Going door to door with flyers would help. Dress nice, and present yourself in a professional manner. If you can show that you have insurance, that is even better. People don't want to get sued when you cut your foot off in their yard. Good luck.
  4. M&SLawnCare

M&SLawnCare LawnSite Senior Member