1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Need equipment advice

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by vclem47, Apr 22, 2004.

1. vclem47

vclem47 LawnSite Member

I'm a community college landscape student looking for equipment research help from some of you professionals out there.

My assignment is to draw up a proposal for a lawn/garden business, include what equipment (including safety) I would buy, what equipment I would rent, and whether I would lease, finance or rent the equipment. With me so far?

Business proposal: One person specializing in designing/maintaining small lawns and gardens for elderly, including simple garden installations, mowing, pruning and generalized cleanup, mulching. Nothing fancy.

What power equipment would you recommend and what would your hourly rates be? I live in the south and propose this job as 20 hours a week to supplement my current income, going full time when I retire early.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks. Vicki
  2. NickN

NickN LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Alabama

Hi Vicki,
    I'll try to help.
    Equipment for your needs.....
    1.Commercial mower(walk behind,since the lawns are small)
    2.Commercial trimmers,edgers,blowers,hedge trimmer,extended articulating hedge trimmer,hand held pruners,scissor type pruners and lopers.ladder,and large garbage can.
    3.Full size truck.
    4.Two trailers.One for hauling your mower(s),trimmers,blowers,etc.,, and one with a solid floor and sides for hauling mulch.Preferably a dump trailer.
    5.Safety equipment:Safety glasses,gloves,hearing protection,steel toe boots,knee pads,back support brace,plenty of common sense.:)
  3. Lawn277

Lawn277 LawnSite Member
    from Iowa

Dont forget insurance, permits, licsences.