Need estimate help.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by MowHouston, Sep 16, 2007.

1. MowHouston

MowHouston LawnSite Bronze Member

I arrived at this yard yesterday and it is hands down the largest I have had to do so far. This is my first year and I may have got in over my head.

I had three 21" mowers going and a fourth person on the edger and it took 2 hours. I'll probably be having to do this one on my own from now on though as the help was just temporary.

I didnt get and pictures of the back but the back fence sits only about 20 feet from the back of the house.

I don't know the lot size on this property either. I guess finding that out might help me a bit.

Anyhow, any help would be appreciated.

2. shane mapes

shane mapes LawnSite Senior Member

here in northern ca. i charge around $65.00 per man per hour so do the math. $65.00 xs 8 man hours = $520.00 i hope you got close to that .
  3. MowHouston

Man. I wish. I'm just trying to save to get a Quick 36 to get stuff done faster.

I came up to $130 with it. I asked another LCO buddy of mine down here he said $100 - $150.

Only one guy was an actual hire off of The others were relatives. :)

I don't see $65/ man hour down here especially with 21" mowers. I need to get myself a set formula and such.

WALKER LANDSCAPE LawnSite Bronze Member

Holy @*&# Batman you pushed mowed all that. WOW thats all I can say WOW. :)
  5. MowHouston

Thats basically what I said when I first saw the place.

Me being the nice guy I am, I pushed the only mower that wasnt self propelled.

I'm very tired today. :dizzy: Most of the lawns out there were large lots and its something I'm not used to compared to Houston residential but I'll love them with a bigger mower.

WALKER LANDSCAPE LawnSite Bronze Member

You need to start saving some COIN and shop for a used WB then you will be alot less TIRED. I started with a TSC riding mower 10 years ago. Things a little different now. Good luck.
  7. MowHouston