Need Help Choosing The Right Tool

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Bruce, Feb 20, 2002.

1. Bruce

Bruce LawnSite Member
    from MN

I have an account that has a steep side hill.About a 75 to 80% slope. I have been using a string trimmer.But its taking to long. Was thinking about buying a Exmark 48in walk behind. If so what would be better hydro or gear drive. Or any other suggestions. thanks,Bruce

2. BufalinoLand

BufalinoLand LawnSite Senior Member

I run a scag 48 belt drive 14 horse Kaw motor and it barely slips in a rainstorm. Hydros are about double the money and more money in the shop. I have no complaints about belt drives

3. Jimbo

Jimbo LawnSite Bronze Member

Bruce,

How much ground you cutting and is it pure grass or mixed weeds? What is the size and how long does it take to cut? What type of trimmer and attachment do you use?

I have been doing a similar job for around 2 years with a trimmer. The slope I am woking on is about 60-degrees. Your slope of 70-80 seems quite step (remember 90-degrees would be stright up).

Anyway if you can elaborate maybe I could tell if my setup would work. I really can't imagine going steeper than 60-65 degrees with a motorized cutter.

4. roscioli

roscioli LawnSite Senior Member

I could be wrong, but I dont think any mower will work on a 75 degree hill... it would be hard even to stand on a 75 degree hill. Right?

5. trophytkr

trophytkr LawnSite Member

Wow 90 degrees is straight up and down in stead of a lawn mower maybe you need a mountain goat!;)

6. Mowman

Mowman LawnSite Senior Member

Depending on how much you have to cut one of these hover mowers might be the ticket for you. Husky makes one but I'm not sure of the price on them. It looks like a pretty simple machine. Not sure if something like this would work for you but it's worth checking into as I think one can be bought for less than $500.00

Good Luck,
    Mowman

7. landman

landman LawnSite Member
    from NJ