Need Help-Edging Beds w/metal border

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by BrandonH, Aug 6, 2004.

1. BrandonH

BrandonH LawnSite Member

I need some help here...I've edged beds before, but never with the metal bed edgeing aorund them. What they want is for me to make a distinct trench on the outside of the bed edging that extends out at least a few inches. I have stick edgers and line trimmers, but no bed edger. What would be the most efficient way to go about doing this? Is there a general census on how much to charge per linear foot when doing this type of work? Since I've never done it before I have no idea how long it will take. I'm going to go measure it later today, but if I had to gues it's at least 7 free standing beds in the lawn that are at least 60 feet in circumfirence. Thanks for any help.

-Brandon

2. GreenMonster

GreenMonster LawnSite Silver Member
    from NH

I rented a bed edger for my last big edge job (500+') and vowed to never cut another edge by hand. You can cut those edges in a matter of minutes.

The general consensus on this site seems to be $1/ft. Of course, you'd need to add the cost of the bed edger rental.

I'm not sure I completely understand your post though. Are you removing the metal edging first?

3. SouthernFried

SouthernFried LawnSite Senior Member

I can usually buy 14 gauge metal edging for around a $1/ft, mebbe a little less. I usually charge them an extra $1.50/ft to install it. It's pretty easy stuff to install.

I generally trench with a pick, install the edging, and then backfill around it. You only have to trench a coupla inches so that the edging sticks up a coupla inches to perform its task.

Hook the edging together and very loosely put it into the ground at first, dont pound stakes all the way in right away. Take at any kinks while it's still loosely installed. When happy, started pounding in the stakes.