1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Need Help Finding Valves

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by X-mow, Jun 28, 2005.

1. X-mow

X-mow LawnSite Member

We just took on some new Lanscape maint. accounts this season and we have to take care of maint. and repairs to the irrigation systems.
    We didn't have any experience with irrigation but everything has worked out OK considering.
    But here's the problem a couple of properties have stations that won't work and I can't find valve boxes or anything to begin to look for the problem.
    How would I go about finding them?

As I said earlier I have very little experience with irrigation systems but I think I could have done a better job of irrigating these properties. (I'll post pics later so you can see what I mean.)
  2. Leo's

Leo's LawnSite Member

a cheap way to do it is use a Rain Bird Valve Clicker, don't know the full name of it but what it does is make the solenoid on the valves chatter when you turn them on by the controller, the only bad thing is sometimes it is hard to hear them if the are buried deep under the turf, or if the solenoid is bad it won't work.
  3. X-mow

X-mow LawnSite Member

Thanks for the reply I'll look into that.
  4. Planter

Planter LawnSite Member
    from Utah