1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Need help for start up!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by ahill713, Nov 8, 2005.

1. ahill713

ahill713 LawnSite Member

I'm a first year college student and I am planning on starting up a new company in my new town next season. I managed (not owned) a crew cutting 50 lawns in high school each week. I have roughly $3000 dollars to work with for start up costs and was wondering what i should do with it. any advice would be great. Thanks in advance!
  2. walker-talker

walker-talker LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Midwest

What do you have now? At least a truck I hope. For that much I would start off buying everything used. How large (generally speaking) are the lawns you will be servicing? Your handheld equipment should be new and will cost around $800 (edger, trimmer and blower). Everything should be commercial quality. The other money should be spent on new 21" mower ($1000) or used 32"-36" and small used trailer ($500). That leaves $700 to play with. Don't forget some money for advertising (flyers or doorhangers).

Good luck
  3. ahill713

ahill713 LawnSite Member

I do have a truck now and i should be able to get free advertising (thanks to the university computer labs). Generally the lawns i am cutting and going to cut will be in the 30 dollar range so i dont need very large equipment. I was also wondering about brands. When i worked i had Honda commercial mowers and everything else Stihl. What other brands should i consider?
  4. Team Gopher

Team Gopher LawnSite Platinum Member
    from -

<Table width="100%" bgcolor="#DDDDDF"><TR><TD><font color="#000000">Have a tax question? Need free business advice? Ask our CPA. Click Here </font></TD></TR></Table>
    Hi ahill713,