Need help in monthly pricing during winter!

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by ABeautifulCutAboveInc., Jul 27, 2006.

1. ABeautifulCutAboveInc.

ABeautifulCutAboveInc. LawnSite Member

I own my business in Central Florida and this is my first year owning my own. Trully, grass grows almost year around. It just slows down. I have talked to other guys who own there own lawn maintenance business, they have told me they charge a monthly flat fee year around. If they mow 4 times or 1 time a month. I know winter is a ways away, but I have to be prepared. If anybody could help me to learn how they operate there fees during the cooler months in Central Florida, it would be very helpful to me. Thanks.

2. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member

Figure out close to how many cuts you will do a year, and any thing else you will do at the property including any trimming, leaves or palms, or lawn care if you can do that. Figure the total cost for the whole year and divide that by 12. Tell them that is the cost per month and that their property will look good all year. You will still visit the property all year and do whatever is needed. This should be an easy sell in FLA.

3. martinfan06

martinfan06 LawnSite Senior Member

Are you using some kind of contract with your clients? I ask because this way the client knows your a full time contractor, not just a summer job. I offered both yearly and seasonal work, cause you'll always have those people that just want it done when its really growing. Yes their a PITA, but when your just starting you need all the work you can do, so you can save as much money as pos to help carry you through the winter.

The ultimate goal is to gain the most premium client base possible(not the most) that way you know you have money coming in all year. Thats not something that happens quickly though. Best of luck

4. ABeautifulCutAboveInc.