Need help NOW!!!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Willofalltrades, Apr 9, 2006.

1. Willofalltrades

Willofalltrades LawnSite Bronze Member

I got a voice mail today regarding a mower I had previously looked at. It Is a Walker MTGHS 26hp EFI with a 48" ghs deck. It is a 2004 with 106 hours. The original price for the machine was $8000. I figured I could get an exmark for $600 more. The seller told me he has received bids as high as $7000 for it in the voice mail. He wanted to know if I was still interested in it because he would give me first picks if I was for $7000. I am a beginner and have 5 signed contracts but haven't done any mass advertising yet, just fliers. I'm not a low baller either. I operate by myself and have little equipment to work with. That is why I would like this Walker. The machine is very versatile. I would get a 62" deck for the larger yards. I also need a machine that will shine in the spring and fall because school takes up a lot of time. I need to really be productive during those times. Should I act on this ASAP before it sells or pass this deal up and finance a exmark? Either way I'm going to need a catcher for fall and If I dethatch a lawn. Thanks,

Will

2. NEPSJay

NEPSJay LawnSite Senior Member

way way WAY to much machine for someone just starting out with 5 contracts IMO. find a nice w/b for a grand or 2 tops to get the ball rolling, and see where ur biz goes from there.

3. LLandscaping

LLandscaping LawnSite Bronze Member

You only have five accounts, you will have to work to get new customer to make the mower pay off. If you plan to be bagging most of the time a Walker is the mower to get. That is a good deal on that mower, new they cost $10,500 here.

4. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic

Well, I don't know what to suggest really... I'm not one for shooting a guy down, but I'm not one to suggest new businesses make big moves either.