Need Help On 2 Acre Bid

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by GreenScapes, Mar 14, 2002.

1. GreenScapes

GreenScapes LawnSite Member

Hello Everyone,
    Great site ! I have not posted yet, just trying to absorb all the info availiable already via search.This is my first year in business for myself, I have 5+ years in the trade but I still learn something everyday ! I have to give an estimate to a building contractor(One of the largest in my area) on his personal residence.Please help me quote the following services for the yard described below Thanks !

Lawn turf area 84,750 sq ft ( I just call it 2 acres) Medium difficulty,house is on a hill and there are some decent slopes, large trees and the majority of the landscaping is surrounding the house and there are a few large trees but in general it's fairly wide open
    Please don't include price of materials unless you live in Michigan as I think the prices will vary. Please DO include what equipment you use.
    1. On call mowing (he like to cut it but sometimes is too busy)
    2. Spring cleanup I have a good idea on this one but it is minimal and I am including it so you can bid the whole "package" of services.
    3. Removal of 4 small 2.5 ft shrubs and one 4ft japanese maple
    4. Dethatching
    5. Core aeration
    6. Reseeding and topdressing of 5000 sf of dead grass areas (he says after a drought it never came back NO Sprinkler system and I will do a soil test)Mulch with straw.Some areas are large 1700 sf and others are small and are scattered throughout the property.

I think a foot in the door is a big factor in bidding the right price, but at the same time I'm not in it for the sheeer joy of it, ie a little profit is always good, I have met with him and I think he will go with my service, I just want a fair price for both of us and a good possibility of future work(I know there are no guarantees ), But that won't stop me from trying.