Need help on Dollar Spot

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Quail Creek LC, Jul 18, 2004.

1. Quail Creek LC

Quail Creek LC LawnSite Member
    from IOWA

Guys, I have a few yards that are starting to get dollar spot. We have been real wet here all summer. Now the heat is starting to come up along with the humidity. Yes I am a certified commercial applicator and this is my first year. What do most of you do for dollar spot? Any help would be great. Just to let you know, the lawn has not been irragated this year and is just now starting to show stess of low moisture. Sould I have them turn the sprinker system on? Will this promote more of the fungus to grow, or will it help out. I also heard it could be lacking Nitrogen. Should I fert again. Thanks in advance.

2. turfsurfer

turfsurfer LawnSite Senior Member

Try to encourage proper watering practices (water deeply and infrequently, only in the morning not the evening.) Fertilize to encourage growth. Minimize turf stress.

3. jajwrigh

jajwrigh LawnSite Bronze Member
    Male, from Martinsville, IN

Dollar spot tells you, as the observer, that the yard is experiencing a N deficiency...

4. Quail Creek LC

from IOWA

I've also read some things that say that it is to high in Nitrogen and some say that I may be lacking Nitrogen. All the research that I have done on this subject has gotten me confused. Thats why I'm asking you experienced guys, cause experience to me is what counts and not what you always read.

5. turfsurfer

turfsurfer LawnSite Senior Member

Dollar spot can be worse in lawns low in nitrogen. You want to encourage growth at this point. It can be pretty unsightly but the lawn will recover.

6. SWD

SWD LawnSite Senior Member