Need Help w/Biz Name Change

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by DMAN, Apr 1, 2002.

1. DMAN

DMAN LawnSite Member

I am in the process of changing the biz name from my last name(Morris Landscapes-solo-operator) to the name of Pro Scapes Landscape Management. I have been in biz for 4 years now with me trying to narrow down the type of clients that i want (full service types )in the newer subdivisions instead of dealing with mostly the mow blow and go customers that i have now. I want to portray a professional image as i have a degree in horticulture and was figuring that this type of change(new logo and name ) is something that would show that image. I have been servicing clients that i purchased from another lco for two years now(no problems), 40% i want to keep with a direct mail piece sent out already to these new subdivisions. I was wondering if this is a good move with me kind of "starting out again".My name isn't really reconized yet and i want to try to grow the buisness now. Also how should i word a letter to the exsisting customers about the change making it not sound like something is wrong(bankrupt,debt issues)?? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated in response to the name change or otherwise. Thanks.

Dman

2. heygrassman

heygrassman LawnSite Senior Member

I personally think that the change is a good move. To existing customers that you are keeping, I would drop them a letter in the next invoice with the new logo on the top and a small (7 font) phrase underneath, Formerly Morris Landscape. I would explain that as you are growing that it is time for a more Professional Image and that a change in name is important, yada yada.....
    I would stress that "We will provide our existing services with the quality you know and deserve. As we grow with our education, we can not offer additional services with the quality you would expect...yada, yada..