1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Need help with a Retaining wall.

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by cavaselis, Jul 15, 2004.

1. cavaselis

cavaselis LawnSite Member

I need to build a retainging wall ~6' tall, problem is im not very experienced and have some questions.

Since this is my first big wall Im looking for a product that can go 6' tall without geogrid, keystones standard units can go 6' 8" in "ideal condiotions" my questions is how do i know if my soil is 34,30, or 26 sand/gravel or silty sand or clay?

2nd is how much do you backfill with gravel like if the wall is 6' tall does that mean I have to have 6' of gravel behind it all the way up? Because if it does my wall is like 70' long by 6' high.

70(long) X 6(HIGH) X 6(DEEP)=2520 / 27= 93 CUBIC YARDS OF GRAVEL IS THIS RIGHT? That sounds crazy thats what 9-10 dump trucks of gravel??

I will post some pictures this week.

Thanks for all the help.
  2. NNJLandman

NNJLandman LawnSite Bronze Member

Thats a bit "ballsy" building a wall that high without any support. Just a small ground movement or thrush of water can push the wall over. Maybe teir the wall into 2-3ft sections.

As for backfill you have to backfill about halfway up to the most top block, not including the cap.

Don't short on the structural soundness of the wall, don't wanna be paying for a shortcut gone wrong down the road. But if you must, try finding a heavy block, I think anchor block are like 70lbs. You'd have to go down mabye a block n a half to "anchor"(no pun intended) the wall.

3. sabre

sabre LawnSite Member
    from indiana

any wall over 4 feet need to be enginered
  4. D Felix

D Felix LawnSite Bronze Member