Need help with an estimate & how to - Top dressing

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Lawn-Scapes, Feb 1, 2002.

1. Lawn-Scapes

Lawn-Scapes LawnSite Silver Member

I have never done any top dressing.. so I need help.

The lawn is 9600 square feet. I am also going to aerate & seed the lawn.

Am I right in my calulations.. 15-17 yards of dressing?

I know when I see the pile sitting in the drive.. I'll have visions of me saying to myself ... WTF did I get myself into?

I just don't see myself shoveling and flinging 15 yards of dirt. I haven't checked my local rental center.. Is there a machine that will make this job easier?

What is the best way to approach/do it?

Being that I have no experience with this.. What price/time am I looking at here?

I will want to aerate and seed before I topdress.. right?

To top it all off... I have to put down 22 yards of mulch at this location also..

I wish I had a helper :(

2. LoneStarLawn

LoneStarLawn LawnSite Bronze Member

We only put down 1/4 in. down for dressing but 1/2 in. will do also so your numbers are ok for 1/2 in.

We charge $72.50 per cubic yard for lawn dressing...

3. Lawn-Scapes

Thanks Alan.. but can you spare a little more info?

Like procedure and about how long it should take...

4. LoneStarLawn

Takes two of us a little less than an hour per cubic yard (wheel barrow, shovels and rakes).

Now the lawn dressing lawns that we do are not very big (3 cubic yards at the most) so I would think you are going to have a real good time.

We have it delivered around the date we are going to apply the dressing and from there on it is all labor for us.

Mulch blowers would be the best machines for the job but I don't know if you can rent them.

5. Lawn-Scapes

Oh yeah.. A really good time :cry: Believe it or not.. this is a small lawn for around here.

I'm going to need every bit of a half inch thickness. The lawn in really really thin & there's a lot of shale too.

If I get the job.. it's going to be loooong week.