1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

Need help with Fert/Weed Control!!!

Discussion in 'Fertilizer Application' started by CRQualityMowing, Oct 15, 2012.

1. CRQualityMowing

CRQualityMowing LawnSite Member
    from Ohio

I am new to fertilizer and weed control and needing help. I am located in southern Ohio and looking for a simple application schedule for three to four times a year and what types of products I should use. Most of the grass here is bluegrass and fescue. Thanks in advance for any help. Anything is much appreciated.

2. CHARLES CUE

CHARLES CUE LawnSite Silver Member

Spring April - Fert / pre / Weed Control

Summer June - Fert / Weed control spot

Fall Sept - Fert / Weed control

You can spot treat for weeds all 3 times or do a blanket 1 or 2 times a year
    For weed control use a 3 way and a adjvent
    Fert some thing with 50% slow release or more talk to a suppler
    What suppler are you going to use

Charles Cue

3. CRQualityMowing

from Ohio

The schedule you have is kinda the one I am going to go by. What about a post emergent for weeds for late may or early june for weeds? Depending on the severness of weeds I may do a blanket but I would rather spot control. I plan on using lesco/johndeerelandscapes. Like I said I'm new to this. All that I have learned is from what I've read or found on the Internet. I had been using the osu extension website too. I have found it very helpful.
    Posted via Mobile Device

4. CHARLES CUE