Need Help With Fertilizing Holly.please

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by Pearl Valley Landscapes, Dec 27, 2007.

1. Pearl Valley Landscapes

Pearl Valley Landscapes LawnSite Member

Hello, I am new to the landscpe industry and any help would be appreciated. I need to fertilize 2 foster holly trees about 15-18 feet tall.The condition of these trees is miserable.They are really thin and have little leaves.

2. ted putnam

ted putnam LawnSite Platinum Member

Fertilizing isn't always the answer. There could be other problems. How wet does the soil stay? Do you see white things anchored to the leaves or stems? could be scale. Are there roots exposed to weather...hot and cold. Are there roots wrapping around the main trunk?...root girdling. Fertilizing will probably help but it may not be the answer to your problem. Drive a stake down 6-8 inches deep evry 2-3 feet at the drip line and fill the holes with fertilizer of your choice. Lesco Triple14 100% slow release is a good one. Good luck

3. Marcos

Marcos LawnSite Gold Member

Wow...
    From what you describe it sounds pretty dire already...
    Yeah, I'd check for scale 1st!

Do you have any idea of what the existing soil pH is in the area around the tree ????

All hollys really like it on the ACID side.

When I plant 'landscape size' hollys in (high pH) Ohio soil, I have to add generous amounts of sulfur & cottonseed meal to bring down the pH to a level they'll tolerate better.
    ....as well as incorporate a lot of peat moss & other organics into the (clayish) soil for better moisture drainage.

4. Hissing Cobra

Hissing Cobra LawnSite Senior Member