1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Need help with flagstone patio

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by JimLewis, Sep 10, 2004.

1. JimLewis

JimLewis LawnSite Fanatic

Hey guys. I could use some help / advice with constructing a flagstone patio. I am working on a project for a friend of mine. I have a lot of experience installing flagstone patios where we put sand or fine gravel in the joints. But my friend wants the flagstone mortared in. I don't have as much experience installing mortared patios.

I thought we'd be able to just install our base (1/4 minus gravel compacted with a vibrating compactor) and then install the flagstone, then install mortor in the joints with a mortar bag. I thought that would work. But my uncle (a general contractor) says that will look nice now but come winter, when water and freezing temperatures effect it, it will begin to crack and by next spring it will look horrible.

My uncle says that the only way to mortar flagstone together and make it work is to actually lay the flagstone on a 1" layer of wet mortar. Then we have to wait 4-5 days for it to completely harden, and only THEN can we mortar the joints together with a mortar bag. And finally, he suggests we seal the top of it with a water sealer to keep water out during the winter.

So I guess if I have to do it this way, we will. The crappy thing is that we've been working on this for 3 days already and already have the flagstone all in place. I hate to take it all off and basically start from scratch.

Short of starting over and laying the flagstone on wet mortar, is there any way to mortar the flagstone together as it is now? Anyone have good experience with this? I need to know by Monday, October 13th.
    Forest likes this.
  2. kris

kris LawnSite Bronze Member