Need help with large weedeating bid..

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tennzman, Jun 2, 2003.

1. tennzman

tennzman LawnSite Member

First of all, I would like to thank everyone on this site for all the valueable information that is shared. I have been lurking and searching on this web-site for 2 years and it has been a great help getting started. I am in my 2nd year of operation (part time) and have 23 accounts.

The bid that I need help with is this: A large executive home on a lot of acres - they want a bid just for weedeating the property. It has approx. 300 trees, 1/4 mile of aggragate driveway, 1/4 mile of white picket fence, approx. 20 flower beds, large house, pool, and seperate garage. How should I go about giving a bid on this job? It will probably be an every 10 day job for the rest of the summer. Thanks

2. lawnMaster5000

lawnMaster5000 LawnSite Senior Member

possibly walk a portion of it to see how long that part takes you then mulitply by number of equal parts in the lawn.

But what i really posted to ask was who is going to be mowing this property, and how good of a job are they going to do in mowing it? Are you going to trim before or after they mow? And are they going to get more and more lazy with the mower as they realize that you will trim what they dont cut?

I dont think i would take the job without the mowing portion, just too many variables.

3. tennzman

tennzman LawnSite Member

At one time, the homeowners had a full time maintenance guy who mowed, painted, etc. Now the homeowners are mowing and want someone to trim. The homeowners are not cutting as close to the trees, beds, etc. as they should.

Your right lawnMaster5000, there are a lot of variables. I was planning on giving them a bid for the trimming, and a bid for mowing and trimming. Thanks for the response.

4. MacLawnCo

MacLawnCo LawnSite Bronze Member