Need opinion on buying existing business

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Signature Services, Dec 24, 2003.

1. Signature Services

Signature Services LawnSite Member

I have been working with a guy who has been in business for 4 years. I started last year. He has approximately $7800 worth of monthly business along with this equipment:
    6'x14' Haulmark
    48" Toro Z350 (mostly not working)
    52" Stander runs good
    2 Stihl trimmers
    2 Stihl BR420 blowers (one not working)
    1 Stihl straight stick edger.
    Along with miscellaneous tools and stuff.

Here's the deal: $2000 per month to him for one year...plus I have to pay my expenses like insurance and fuel/repairs.

What do you guys think????

2. gogetter

gogetter Banned

3. Signature Services

Gogetter, thanks for your opinion. I do have more info than what I originally posted. I work with him as a contract employee since April. I have known him for over 10 years. I know that he just signed a two year contract on one of the accounts that worth 54k for the two year period. ($2250/mo) along with other contracts that are negoiated yearly. SO, anything is possible and he will help me transition especially with repairs on the Stander and Toro.

4. Kelly's Landscaping

Kelly's Landscaping LawnSite Platinum Member

You need to get a sheet of paper and add up the total value of the equipment and the accounts

The trailer used I'm being nice is probably 2,000
    I’m not familiar with either mower but they both sound like belt walk behinds or you would of said hydros new walks behinds are 2-3 k each you said one doesn’t even work you gave no age on the other but I would say knock off at least 20% per year so it sounds like the pair of mowers are worth maybe 2500-3000 for both and that could be high
    Trimmers are both nice you didn’t mention the size but typically weed wackers are 275-325 new so lets be kind and say 500