Need Some Advice for estimates and mower scalping problems

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by THEoneandonlyLawnRanger, Aug 21, 2006.

1. THEoneandonlyLawnRanger

THEoneandonlyLawnRanger LawnSite Senior Member

Hi, I have a HD70 John Deere walk behind with a 54 inch deck, It had no gauge wheels on the deck when i bought it and it scalped the yards like crazy, so i purchased an optional kit for the front for 100 bucks and it has helped the problem 50%, but i need the back guage wheel kit but it costs double that plus you have to weld it on. I was wondering if there were any tips on how to keep scalping down without buying the expensive rear gauge wheels? I am going to buy them but probably not until next season, or at leasat till i can get some more yards to help pay for it. ALSO I was wondering how to give estimates, one of my friends has 30 yards and charges $35 per hour, I am just starting out commercially and dont really know how to price lawns, i have been mowing 5-6 lawns for my family for several years and have just always thrown out a price that sounds good to me and worth me time to them, but im kind of afraid to do that to potential customers. I want to give a fair deal, but still not go broke, If anyone could give some suggestions on either of these problems i would greatly appreciate it.........Ben:usflag:
  2. M and S Lawn Care

M and S Lawn Care LawnSite Senior Member

Are the yards you're cutting really bumpy and or are you cutting really short? I have a 48" fixed deck walkbehind and never have a problem with scalping.
  3. THEoneandonlyLawnRanger

THEoneandonlyLawnRanger LawnSite Senior Member

I have my deck set on the middle position its what i mow with my 60inch jd rider, but my jd rider has 6 wheels on the deck, so it never scalps, but yes most of my yards have alot of bumps and hills

HOOLIE LawnSite Gold Member