need some help

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Kends, Mar 17, 2001.

1. Kends

Kends LawnSite Member

I'm a newby. I have a chance to bid on a big job. It's a retention area in my subdivision. I've been doing really well bidding on residential work using formulas I found on this site. Sq. ft. x .002 = price for job. Basically, $2.00 per 1000 sq. foot. In some areas I go as high as $2.50 to $3.00 per 1000 sq. foot.

On to my job. It's 120,000 sq. foot. My neighpor is the treasure to our home howners association. She showed me the contract from last season and the guy is doing it for $130.00 per cut. It's a weekly cut job. No obsitcales. It's an easy cut. So, I use my formula, I come up with $240.00 per cut.

There's no way I'll get the job. This is my first year in the business (full time). Should I bid it a the $130.00? Am I doing something wrong with the $2.00 per 1000 sq. foot?

Help!

2. joshua

joshua LawnSite Bronze Member

ok,kends here's my formula if i don't make about a dollar a minute i can't do the job, because of overhead. just to help us guys out tell us what kind of equipment you are planning on running and we could help you on your bidding and how many man crew you have or if you are solo. also, how big is the building on that property. 120,000sq - building size and thats the amount of grass you will be cutting. some more info, and all the guys on here can give you helping hand.

3. skyphoto

skyphoto LawnSite Member

Kends,

I think it is not an easy? to answer....Do you really need the work? Is there fringe benefits to having this account such as refrences or other prospective clients nearby....Since ya know the bid from last year at least this gives you the hand up in the decision of how bad do ya want it.....

Just my .02

Good luck!!!!

4. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic

Take it! If it's all wide open and no obstacles, I'm sure you can make money at it no matter WHAT you're cutting with. It still comes out to $47/acre.