Need some help

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by KS_Grasscutter, Dec 22, 2005.

1. KS_Grasscutter

KS_Grasscutter LawnSite Gold Member

I am new here. First, I want to say great site! Now, some info. I am 15, from Hutchinson, Kansas. I have been mowing about 5 lawns for a few years. I am wanting to expand (a lot) this year and need some tips. I also am going to be doing all the work myself after school. I currently have a 3303 Dixon and a Deere JX75. I also have all the other support equipment.

Now, what I am needing is which mower would you get to do about 10 jobs, and catching all the grass? I am wanting to replace the Dixon.

Also, what do I need to be legal in Kansas. I have read a couple posts here, and I know I need insurance. What will I need other than that?

Advertising. Right now, I am doing no advertising. I plan to pass out fliers and put an ad in the paper. Do you think this will be sufficient?

Anyway, I think you in advance for the help.

2. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

I would say first, expand to 10 yards and see how double the business does.

By the time you get to this point, it's likely going to be March or April.

Far as insurance, I wouldn't worry about it too much but if you start to run into 15-20 accounts, you might consider getting your parents to get a business license for you and take things from there, thou it will likely be April, May, or June before this becomes an issue.

To be prepared just in case things take off faster than that, you might call around a few insurance places at this time and ask where you can get 'General Business Liability Insurance,' and this should help lead you the proper direction for this issue, thou I would do this bit mostly FYI for now.

3. daveintoledo

daveintoledo LawnSite Silver Member

very constructive:)

if your only doing 10 yards, do your really need new equipment?????

How big are the yards...

4. PMLAWN

PMLAWN LawnSite Gold Member