1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Need starter mower.

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by 1BadHawk, Feb 13, 2005.

1. 1BadHawk

1BadHawk LawnSite Member

I dont know if this is a duplicate post or not , I applogise in advance if it is.

I need a recommendation for a mower. Im just starting out and all I have now is my typical home depot B&S lawn mower 21" I think.

Ill by concentrating on residential lots, something myserlf and another worker can handle in a reasonable time. Targeting elderly townhome communities, and newer upscale communities. Lots generaly les than .25 acre. Since $ is tight i wanna start small and grow as the profits grow.

What would you recommend I start with?
  2. plateau lawn care

plateau lawn care LawnSite Member
    from georgia

belt drive commercial mower about 2200 bucs give or take a few
  3. shaughnessylawn

shaughnessylawn LawnSite Member

4. lwcmattlifter

lwcmattlifter LawnSite Senior Member
    from NC

I would look for a lightly used 36" belt drive fixed deck walkbehind. They are cheap and easy to find. II would not buy one that you can't get parts for quickly. Do you have Valley Trader in your area. Usually there are some good deals there. Try the trader online ads too. traderonline
  5. bushtrimmer

bushtrimmer LawnSite Senior Member

If this is only mower, you really need a new mower. When you look back on things in a year or two, you will have wished you had gotten the right mower.
    If ur serious about getting into business, get a loan, even if it has to be for 3 years, you can pay it off when you have the money but payments will be reasonably low.
    You should have minimum a 48 or 52" hydro, I don't think of anything but exmark.