Need story help

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by Valerie, Dec 21, 2005.

1. Valerie

Valerie LawnSite Member

Hi! I'm a writer for Lowe's Home Improvement Stores and am doing a story on landscaping in areas where there's low moisture, rocky soil, highly acidic soil, or other adverse conditions. Would like to hear from a few people and their experiences with irrigation (what's worked? what hasn't?) Is there anyone out there in these situations who would talk to me by phone for a few minutes within the next couple weeks? Thanks so much!

vankootenv@central.edu

2. Planter

Planter LawnSite Member
    from Utah

Since the people here are irrigation professionals who make their living installing systems that work and you are writing for a home center that caters to the do it yourself branch of the public I don't think you will have much success here.
    Now if you want to get a degree in hort so you understand soil science and water/soil relationship I'm sure you could whip out the article on your own.
    Another suggestion might be to contract one of the guys here as a ghost writer.
    Having fixed many crappy systems that the "DIY" crowd put in, I don't think I want to encourage it.

3. PurpHaze

PurpHaze LawnSite Fanatic

Now to bring up a rhetorical question: If I work on my own system at home am I still a professional or am I now a DIYer? :p

I could really get an identity crisis. :cry:

4. Planter

Planter LawnSite Member
    from Utah

I think you would be a professional. The DIY guys are easy to spot 15 foot heads on 20 foot settings, 10 PGP or MaxiPaws on a 1" line, no back flow, etc.

5. PurpHaze

Phew... I was worried there for a minute. LOL

6. bicmudpuppy

bicmudpuppy LawnSite Silver Member