need your opinion please

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by mowit12000, Nov 2, 2003.

1. mowit12000

mowit12000 LawnSite Member

i have been working for this LCO for a little over 5 yrs now, first 4 were part-time. I absolutely love what i do we are lawncare and landscaping(mainly retainting walls) I have been the lawncare crew leader for sometime and filling in on the landscape side when needed, the boss uses alot of college students part-time from may to august, prior to and after them i mainly cut alone, we maintain approx fifty properties from 5k to 30 acres.

well here is my question: the boss says we are so busy cant have days off anymore til end of season, still cutting, need to start leaves, have a two tiered 180 foot long wall in progress
    and several small patios and walkways(holland pavers) and mulching jobs etc etc etc...... snow coming soon it is november!!
    my pay is good only benefit is one week vacation, no rain pay or sick days collect umemployment in winter unless snow , then boss says he is going to be gone one day ooh thought i told u
    going to florida for 11 days with family. meanwhile i feel i left holding the bag, wife thinks i'm being taken advantage of and i thought i would ask u brothren on ls for some advice what do u all think

sorry it is so long really need to vent thanks to all!!!

2. locutus

locutus LawnSite Bronze Member
    from NC

Sounds like he doesn't have much compassion for his employees. I would feel extremely quilty if I subjected my employees to that type of treatment. This is one of the reasons why there is such a great amount of turn-over in this industry. You are not without options though.

3. lawnman_scott

lawnman_scott LawnSite Fanatic

Not to sound harsh, but whos name is on the side of the truck again, yours or his?

4. lawnman_scott

lawnman_scott LawnSite Fanatic