1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community on the Franchising Forum.

Dismiss Notice

Need your Troubleshooting Wisdom

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by Bush_Baron, Feb 15, 2009.

1. Bush_Baron

Bush_Baron LawnSite Member

Hello everyone. I am a new to this forum. I have been viewing this site for several months, and have enjoyed the reading your posts.

Today I come to you with a trouble shooting issue….Tell me what I’m missing.

12 zone system, Rainbird ESP 12 plus controller, zones 1&2 operate through “Add-a-Zone”, zones 4&5 operate through “Add-a-Zone”, 18 gage multi strand field wires, 1 ½” Weathermatic 21000 series valves.

Problem: Zones 1&2 do not come on, all other zones operate. Diagnostics in controller report “Fault 1”

What I have observed: Valves 1&2 are installed within the same enclosure. Valves 1&2 will operate manually by using bleeder. Ran “RASTER” test, it reported “OPEN 1”. Multimeter indicates open circuit on zone 1, all other zones indicate 55 ohms of resistance or less. I disconnected the Add-a-Zone and connected the field wires directly to the controller’s transformer. The multimeter shows 30 volts at the valves. I removed the solenoids, (S24BSA) and they operate with the 30 volts from the field wires. I tested the resistance of the solenoids while removed, 25 ohms each. I replaced the solenoids and activated them with 3, 9-Volt batteries, valves did not come on. Opened the bleeders manually, and the valves come on. Are these the correct solenoids for the valves? Since Weathermatic plungers fall out of the solenoid when removed, could they have been replaced with a different size? It seems unlikely that two solenoids would go bad at the same time, but I’m sure stranger things have happened.

Before I spend the money for two new solenoids, am I overlooking something?

2. Wet_Boots

Wet_Boots LawnSite Fanatic