Nelson Products

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by IanMcP, Jun 27, 2007.

1. IanMcP

IanMcP LawnSite Member

I have been working for a landscape company for 4 years now and we install alot of irrigation systems. We use nelson products and I noticed there isn`t alot of talk on here about nelson. I was just curious if anyone had any input. I do all the service calls, and in charge of new installations, but the only defaults I see is the solonoids go bad alot. I also do not have alot of experience with other brands. Please give me your input
  2. Mike Leary

Mike Leary LawnSite Fanatic

You'll find most of us on the forum have our favorites..the ones that give best
    performance over the years. I've never used a Nelson product..maybe they
    work fine. The bottom line is parts & rep support...are solenoids & diaphrams
    available without special order? Does the company change designs a lot so the valve you put in three years ago has to come out because of no parts?
    My preferences are reverse flow valves, they'll pass a lot more crap than the
    forward flows. If you're going to stay in the biz, pick a valve that you can get
    parts for ten...twenty years. Yep, I can hear a bunch of you saying"right,
    old timer, twenty years?". A quality valve should last that long, as long as
    solenoids & diaphrams are available.:) Welcome to the forum.
  3. irritation

irritation LawnSite Gold Member

My experience with Nelson products has not been good.
    The rotors are dependable but take way too long to adjust.
    The seals in both the rotor and spray heads will expand after a couple years causing them not to retract.
    The electric valves will leak around the bonnet plus the solenoid problems.
  4. DanaMac

DanaMac LawnSite Fanatic